top of page

The Most Well-Known Canadian Literature Prizes and Awards

Updated: Jan 17

A skyline of Toronto and the CN Tower

Canada's literary landscape boasts a rich and vibrant tradition, with numerous awards and prizes that recognize and celebrate the country's exceptional literary talent. These prestigious accolades serve as a testament to the diversity and depth of Canadian literature, honoring authors who have made significant contributions to the literary world. Here, we explore some of the most well-known Canadian literature prizes and awards:

1. The Scotiabank Giller Prize:

Established in 1994, the Scotiabank Giller Prize is one of Canada's most esteemed literary awards. Presented annually, it recognizes the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English or translated into English. The prize holds significant cultural and financial value, with the winner receiving a generous cash award and heightened visibility within the literary community. The Scotiabank Giller Prize has become a hallmark of excellence in Canadian fiction, elevating the careers of many acclaimed authors.

2. The Governor General's Literary Awards:

Among Canada's oldest and most prestigious literary honors, the Governor General's Literary Awards have been presented annually since 1937. Administered by the Canada Council for the Arts, these awards celebrate excellence in Canadian literature across various genres, including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, and children's literature. The awards are bestowed in both English and French languages, fostering appreciation for Canada's bilingual cultural heritage.

3. The Griffin Poetry Prize:

Launched in 2000 by businessman Scott Griffin, the Griffin Poetry Prize is an internationally recognized award that celebrates exceptional poetry collections published in English from around the world. The prize features two categories: one for Canadian poetry and another for international poetry. The Griffin Poetry Prize has significantly elevated the profile of Canadian poets, promoting the art of poetry and its enduring impact on society.

4. The Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize:

Supported by the Writers' Trust of Canada, the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize recognizes and celebrates Canadian authors for their exceptional contributions to the field of literary fiction. Awarded annually, the prize is a testament to the diverse voices and narratives that shape Canadian literature. The Writers' Trust Fiction Prize has honored some of Canada's most prominent authors, elevating the importance of fiction in the nation's cultural identity.

5. The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction:

Named in honor of the late Canadian journalist Charles Taylor, this award acknowledges the finest works of non-fiction in Canada. Established in 2000, the Charles Taylor Prize has become synonymous with celebrating the art of non-fiction writing, honoring authors who explore compelling subjects and provide insights into the human experience and the world around us.

6. The RBC Taylor Prize:

Formerly known as the Charles Taylor Prize, the RBC Taylor Prize is awarded annually to the best Canadian work of literary non-fiction. Supported by the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC), the prize celebrates the depth and excellence of Canadian non-fiction writing, recognizing authors who contribute valuable perspectives on important subjects and historical events.

These are just a few of the most well-known Canadian literature prizes and awards that underscore the nation's literary brilliance. Each award celebrates the diverse voices, perspectives, and experiences that make Canadian literature a treasure trove of creativity and intellect. These prestigious accolades not only honor the outstanding achievements of Canadian authors but also serve as catalysts for furthering the growth and appreciation of Canadian literature on both national and global stages.


bottom of page